Diplomacy – House Rules

Deadlines
I live near Chicago, so all deadlines will be (conveniently) in my time zone. 12 noon Central, which is GMT-5 in the summer and GMT-6 in the winter (northern hemisphere). That's 1pm east coast, around 4pm-7pm across Europe, and early morning of the next day in Australia. I usually won't have deadlines on Sat or Sun, but it could happen on occasion.

Extensions
I rarely grant them for a season currently in play... if you can write me to ask for an extension, you can write to turn in some moves. If you have a vacation planned where you can't get email, and you request it ahead of time, I'll do my best to schedule deadlines that work for all... but once a deadline is set and a turn begins, I probly won’t change it.

Adjudiations
There are no grace periods. Once a deadline has passed, you are subject to NMR whenever I adjudicate. However, you can always revise moves up until I start to run the turn! So if I’m a day late in getting to the game, do not assume the turn is over, or moves are locked. One can revise up until the results come out. That will usually be w/in a few hours of the deadline.

NMR's
An NMR in the first year may be cause for removal from the game, at GM discretion.
An NMR will result in all units holding, however if a unit is dislodged the player may still submit a retreat – the unit is not automatically disbanded.
An NMR on a retreat phase means the units disband.
An NMR on a build phase means builds are waived. If a country fails to submit a required disband, the units farthest from the country are removed first. If units are equally distant, then remove Fleets before Armies and then in alphabetical order by the [full name of the] provinces in which they’re located.

Civil Disorder (CD)
Two consecutive spring or fall season NMR's with no contact from the player will put a player in CD. They are then out of the game, and all units will hold and disband if dislodged.

Replacements
I generally won't find replacements, because of my NMR rules above. If a player approaches me with a special circumstance... and can no longer play, I will consider case by case. But safe to say barring the extremely rare, once the group confirms playing, you will not likely encounter any replacement players.

Retreats
If I can skip a retreat phase because all retreating units only have 1 possible retreat, I will order the retreats and skip to the next phase. Players can opt within 48 hours* to change to disband, but otherwise the retreat will stand. This is just to skip some usually pointless phases waiting for orders that only have one option. If there seems to be some diplomacy involved, (like say if 2 retreating units can only retreat to the SAME one space) I'll post the turn instead. It's really just to keep the game moving in no-brainer situations.

Proxy Orders
A player may proxy his units to another:
  • The in-game proxy: A player may designate his orders to another player in the game. That player may then turn in orders for the other units. If the owning player turns in any orders of his own, his own orders will trump the orders of the proxy. If the proxy does not submit orders, the owning player's units will be ordered to hold, but not NMR since their order was to follow the instructions of the proxy - the owning player did not fail to submit orders.
  • The stand-in: A player may designate a friend or colleague to play on his behalf if he will be away for some time. This may be a stand-in not in the game. Just like the in-game proxy, any order by the owning player takes precedence. If the stand-in fails to submit orders, the owning player suffers the NMR and all results forthcoming. The owning player is the player of record for all that transpires, tho the stand-in has full authority over the country so long as he is declared the stand-in.

  • Abbreviations
    Please use standard abbreviations - ambiguous abbreviations will result in a misorder. An order that could have multiple interpretations will fail. For example F NTH-NOR would fail, because this could mean F NTH-Norway or F NTH-Norwegian Sea. F StP-Nor would be ok since StP can only go to Norway, not Norwegian. "Nor" and "Liv" should be avoided as they can be problematic, tho if only one possible order can be made, it will be allowed.

    Army / Fleet
    The designation of A or F in orders is to remind players of their pieces. If you leave out the unit type in an order, the order does not fail since only one unit can occupy any province. Even an incorrect designation of A or F will not cause an otherwise valid order to fail.

    Specifying Coasts
  • When a unit is moving FROM (or giving support from... or disbanding a unit in...) a province with multiple coasts, the coast need not be specified. Therefore a fleet moving FROM say, Spain(sc) may be ordered from Spa or from Spa(sc) equally.
  • When a unit is moving TO a province with multiple coasts, and movement is only possible to 1 coast, the coast need not (but may) be specified.
  • When a unit is moving TO a province with multiple coasts, and movement is possible to either (or any) coast, the coast must be specified, or the order will fail.
  • Some maps have some powers' home centers on multi-coast provinces. In those cases if ordering a build in a province with multiple coasts, the coast must be specified, or the build order will fail.
  • If a coast is not required to be specified, yet an incorrect coast is given, as in say an order of F Gas-Spa(sc) then the order will fail! F Gas-Spa would be ok, or F Gas-Spa(nc) would be ok, but F Gas-Spa(sc) would fail as a fleet in Gas cannot move to Spa(sc)
  • When supporting a unit that is in a multi-coast province, you do not need to specify the coast of the unit being supported. Remember support is given for a province as a whole, not a particular unit type or coast. If a wrong coast is explicitly stated, the support order is still valid, since support is given for a territory as a whole, NOT the unit on the coast.

  • End-Game Proposals (EGP)
    Any active player can make an End-Game Proposal. It should be turned in with his/her regular orders, and will be proposed for a vote during the NEXT season. Once a turn has begun, it is too late to propose an EGP for the turn already in play. Players may then vote with their next season's orders. Eliminated players or countries in Civil Disorder have no vote. To pass, the end-game-proposal requires a yes vote from all active players. Any single no vote will cause the proposal to fail. Any non-vote or NMR will be counted as a no-vote. (one cannot accidentally miss a turn due to a vacation to come back to find out he unwillingly assented to end a game). There are two possible end-game proposals:

    No Substantial Change (a.k.a. "The Stalemate Rule")
    If a game appears to be stalemated, the GM may choose to declare the game a DIAS if there appears to be no substantial change to the board dynamics for 4 consecutive turns (2 years). This rule is most likely to apply where some power(s) have demonstrated a stalemate line that cannot be broken given a fixed set of defensive orders. If the No Substantial Change rule is to be invoked, the GM will notify the players after the 2nd season of effect, allowing them at least one full year to consider the implications of a potential stalemate. Any declared stalemate will be a DIAS where all players in control of at least 1 supply center will share equally in a draw. Some things that may break a stalemate are:
    GM Impersonation
    Strictly off-limits. Any attempt to forge a GM email or communication will be cause for immediate removal from a game.

    Changes
    These rules may be changed by the GM at any time.

    The GM Rule
    Any points not explicitly governed by these house rules are to be adjudicated according to the discretion of the GM. All GM decisions are final.

    * Within 48 hours approximately -- officially due by 3pm Central, 2 days after the adjudication - unless the adjudication was on a Friday, in which case the deadline is the following Monday.